Kondor Path Tours

Where is the Rainbow Mountains

The official entrance to Rainbow Mountain is by a small town called Pitumarca, two hours from Cusco “Cusco road – Lake Titicaca.” From Pitumarca, we will climb the Andes for an average of an hour and a half, following a dirt road until arriving at Llamachimpana. Llamachimpana is the starting point of hiking to the mountain of 7 colors; You can also ride on horseback almost to the top.

Vinicunca or Winicunca, also called Siete Colores, Montaña Arcoíris, or Rainbow Mountain (the settlers call Cerro Colorado). The mountain of seven colors has an altitude of 5,200 meters above sea level / 17,060 feet. The Rainbow Mountain does locate on the road to Nevado Ausangate, in the Andes of Peru, Cusco Region, and Canchis province.

  • Mountain range: Andes
  • Parent range: Andes
  • Community: Winicunca, Qesiuno, and Llamachimpana
  • District: Pitumarca
  • Province: Canchis
  • Department: Cusco
  • Country: Peru
  • Continent: South America

Vinicunca stands located in the district of Pitumarca, in the province of Canchis, Cusco region. The trail and the Rainbow Mountain Pass are close to the snowy Ausangate (sacred mountain). Its high Andean area is surrounded by camelids such as alpacas and vicuñas. In addition, they will appreciate the flight of the majestic condor if they are lucky.

Inquire Now

    Check here if you accept these Terms & Conditions.

    Contact form footer
    Contact form footer

    Join the Group

    Contact form footer

    Inquiry Now

    Contact form Tour